Glad to have you here in the Constitution State! Connecticut is home to Yale University, the Mystic Seaport, and the Mark Twain House. Before you start your adventures in this state, you need to make sure you have your out-of-state documents ready so you can transfer them to the state of Connecticut.
Here’s your guide to transferring your out-of-state driver’s license and vehicle registration to Connecticut.
Required Items to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Connecticut
You will need specific documentation and payment(s) to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Connecticut. Here’s what you’ll need:
Your current driver’s license (if your driver’s license is expired, it can’t be expired for more than two years)
Complete an Application for a Non-Commercial Driver’s License (Form R-229)
2 proofs of identity (birth certificate, ID card, etc.)
Social security number
Proof of residency
Legal presence in the U.S. (for individuals who are non-U.S. born)
Name change documents (if applicable)
Application fee: $40
License fee: $84 (if you are paying these fees by check, you need to bring two checks for this process- 1 check for each process)
Steps You Need to Take to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Connecticut
You need to take certain steps to ensure you transfer your out-of-state vehicle documents to Connecticut.
Finding a Location
In this state, you need to visit DMV Hub Offices or Enfield office because out-of-state transfers are only handled in these locations.
Obtaining the Required Documents
You need to make sure you submit all the required documentation, take the necessary tests, and pay all applicable fees to ensure there are no delays, and that you are not susceptible to any penalties.
Pass the Necessary Exams
You must take and pass the Connecticut vision test, and you might be required to take and pass the knowledge exam for the state of Connecticut. The knowledge exam is a written exam that determines how familiar you are with the traffic laws in CT.
As far as the vision test is concerned, if you wear glasses or contact lenses, make sure you wear them during your vision test.
Be advised that the CT DMV mails all license and ID cards. During this time, you must keep your current driver’s license or ID until you receive your permanent driver’s license or ID card. However, you will receive a temporary paper card that acts as your driver’s license or ID until you receive your permanent document.
Exceptions to Transferring Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Connecticut
There are some exceptions to transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to the state of Connecticut. First, you need to establish residency in the state of Connecticut. Once you establish residency in this state, you have 30 date to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Connecticut.
If you are under the age of 18 and have a valid driver’s license from a different state, you are required to complete additional steps. Be advised that Connecticut does not accept a license that is issued to individuals who are under the age of 16 years old.
If your out-of-state driver’s license has expired for more than two years, you will need to obtain a learner’s permit and take the 8-hour safe driving practices course at a Connecticut-licensed school. This test is required before you can take the CT skills test at a Connecticut DMV branch.
If your out-of-state driver’s license is lost, you need to obtain a certified copy of your out-of-state driver history or abstract dated within 60 days. The previous licensing state will be notified of the issuance of your Connecticut driver’s license, then your previous state driver’s license will be canceled.
If you’re a full-time student who is living in Connecticut but maintaining out-of-state or out-of-country permanent residency, you are not required to obtain a CT driver’s license as long as you have maintain full-time student status. When and if your full-time student status is terminated (which will be determined by your school records), you have 30 days to obtain a Connecticut driver’s license.
If you are military personnel or the dependent of military personnel who is stationed in Connecticut, you are not required to obtain a CT driver’s license. Click here for more information regarding military personnel and driver’s licenses in Connecticut.
As a foreign traveler on a visitor’s visa, you may operate a motor vehicle in the state of Connecticut for one year with a valid out-of-country driver’s license and an International Driver’s Permit. You can obtain an International Driver’s License Permit from your home country. Click here for more information regarding an International Driver’s Permit.
If you have a driver’s license from American Samoa, Guam, or the U.S. Virgin Islands, this is still considered an out-of-state driver’s license, which have the same requirements listed above. You are required to obtain an abstract of your driving record from your home territory before you can transfer your driver’s license to Connecticut. The CT DMV will waive the need for you to present an abstract when you are transferring a non-CDL driver’s license from Guam if you are an active duty military member or a family member of an active military member. Be advised that you must show military identification in this situation. If you are the family member of an active military duty individual, you must show identification.
If you obtain a driver’s license from Puerto Rico, this is considered an out-of-state driver’s license, and again, you need to follow the instructions provided above. In this situation, the CT DMV branch you visit will verify your driver’s license from Puerto Rico with your home territory before you can transfer your driver’s license to the state of Connecticut. The DMV will also notify you via mail of the status of your Puerto Rico driver’s license. The letter you will receive from the CT DMV will give you the information you need on how to proceed with the licensing process.
Connecticut Written Examination
You may be required to pass the CT written examination. This exam has a total of 25 questions. You need to answer at least 20 questions correctly to obtain a minimum passing score of 80%. The CT written exam is not a timed test. If you fail this test, you have to wait at least 7 days before you can retake the exam. You will also have to pay the fee to retake the exam.
Connecticut Vision Standards
The minimum vision requirements for a standard, Class D driver’s license in Connecticut is 20/40 or better with or without wearing corrective lenses. Your visual acuity is how clearly you can see. Your peripheral vision is how far you can see to either side while looking straight ahead. The CT vision standards require drivers to obtain a peripheral vision of 140 degrees of binocular peripheral vision field. If you fail the CT vision test, you will not be permitted to take the knowledge exam, and you must reschedule the vision test once you see an optometrist to correct your vision.
Transferring Your Out-of-State Vehicle Registration to Connecticut
In order to transfer your vehicle’s registration to the state of Connecticut, you need to take different steps and pay all the applicable fees. Your vehicle must be registered to legally drive it on the highways and roadways of Connecticut. Whether you have recently moved to the state or purchased a new vehicle, you will need to register the vehicle.
Be advised that you also must have a valid auto insurance policy before you can register your vehicle with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (CT DMV).
New Residents of Connecticut
If you are bringing your vehicle from your home state (the state you moved from), you have 60 days to transfer your previous vehicle registration to the CT DMV. Before you can complete the vehicle registration process, you must complete a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection and emissions test at a CT emissions testing center. Keep in mind that you may be exempt from emissions testing depending on the type of vehicle you own. Click here for more information regarding emissions testing in Connecticut.
Once you complete the required testing, you can visit your local CT DMV branch and present:
Your out-of-state Certificate of Title and vehicle registration certificate
Your emissions report or VIN verification report
Your current CT auto insurance identification card
An acceptable form of identification:
Military ID card
Payment for all applicable CT registration fees
You can’t have any outstanding property tax payments, parking tickets, or previously had your registration privileges suspended.
Registering Your New or Used Vehicle in Connecticut
In order to register your vehicle in the state of Connecticut, your vehicle needs to meet the state’s requirements for compliance.
You will not be granted a CT vehicle registration if:
You have had your vehicle registration privilege suspended
You owe property tax payments
You have unpaid parking tickets
Your vehicle does not comply with the CT emissions standards found here
New or Used Vehicles
Before you can register your vehicle, you need to take your vehicle to an emissions testing facility to pass the emissions test or have the VIN verified at a verification station (if your vehicle is exempt from emissions testing)
Once your vehicle passes the emissions test or the VIN has been verified, you need to visit your local CT DMV branch or a limited service office and present:
A completed Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (Form H-13B)
The current Certificate of Title and Registration certificate (if you’re registering a new vehicle)
A bill of sale
A current Connecticut vehicle insurance card (this insurance card can be obtained from your insurance provider. The insurance policy must be in your name.)
An acceptable form of identification:
Payment for all applicable registration fees
Purchasing a Vehicle from a Private Party
If you purchased a vehicle from a private party (an individual) and want to drive the vehicle, the following may apply to this situation:
If the vehicle’s previous owner has returned the license plates and cancelled the vehicle’s registration, you need to transfer the vehicle title and register the vehicle in your name before you can drive it.
If the vehicle’s previous owner has not returned the license plates and cancelled the vehicle’s registration, you should not have an issue legally driving the vehicle. The vehicle’s title needs to be transferred and the vehicle needs to be registered in your name as soon as possible.
If the previous vehicle owner didn’t have the vehicle registered for a while, the vehicle will need to pass an emissions test. You need to contact the CT DMV and ask about obtaining a temporary vehicle registration in order to be able to get the vehicle inspected and fully registered.
If you are registering a leased vehicle, you will follow the same steps above fro registering a new or used vehicle. In addition to those steps, you will also need:
Your leasing license on file with the CT DMV (you can call (860) 263-5056) to verify the license and address of the leasing company before registering your vehicle)
An original Power of Attorney document (copies and faxes are not accepted). The document must state who has authorization to sign documents for the leasing company.
Be advised that your CT auto insurance card may be in your name or in the name of the leasing company. If your vehicle will be used to complete a driver test at any time, your auto insurance card is required to be in the name of the leasing company.
The leasing company’s name and address are required to be present on the Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (Form H-13B) The power of attorney must also sign this form.
Expired Connecticut Vehicle Registrations
If your vehicle registration is expired, you will be required to re-register your vehicle. If your vehicle’s registration has been expired for less than 2 years, you need to visit your local CT DMV office and:
Provide your license plate number and registration renewal notice
Show your valid CT driver’s license
Make sure your vehicle has no outstanding compliance issues, such as:
Emissions testing requirements
Unpaid parking tickets
Outstanding property taxes
Payment for the CT registration fee and $10 late fee
If your vehicle registration has been expired for more than 2 years, in addition to the requirement above, you will need to complete an Official Registration of a Motor Vehicle and Application for Certificate of Title (Form H-13B). You will also be required to put new license plates on the vehicle.
Temporary Vehicle Registrations in Connecticut
If your vehicle’s registration has expired but your vehicle requires a safety inspection or emissions test, you can give yourself time to complete these tasks by obtaining a temporary vehicle registration.
You will follow the same steps above for registering a new or used vehicle. You need to be sure that you specify you’re requesting a temporary CT vehicle registration document for the purposes of having a vehicle inspection performed.
Keep in mind that temporary vehicle registrations are not renewable, so you need to complete your safety inspection or emissions test within the first 10 days of receiving the temporary vehicle registration.
Registration Fees in Connecticut
Vehicle registration fees in the state of Connecticut vary depending on the type of vehicle you own. Common CT vehicle registration fees include:
Passenger vehicle: $120 for 3 years
Commercial vehicle: From $47 for 1 year (price will vary depending on the weight of the vehicle)
Motorcycle: $63 for 3 years
Trailer (personal use): $28.50
Snowmobile: $20 for 3 years
Electric vehicles: $57 for 3 years
You may also be required to pay additional fees, including:
Federal Clean Air Act fee: $10
Passport to the Parks fee: $5 per year
Greenhouse Gas Reduction fee: $5 (one-time fee if you’re registering a vehicle with a Certificate of Origin)(Video) How To Transfer Out Of State Title!!! Quick Simple & Easy!!
Late fee: $10
Contractor or municipality per transaction processing fee: up to $8
New residents of Connecticut will also need to pay:
Emissions test fee: $0
VIN inspection fee: $10 (vehicles exempt from emissions testing)
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicle Locations
You need to visit a Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicle branch to successfully complete the transfer of your out-of-state vehicle documents. Luckily, there are different DMV branch locations throughout the state of Connecticut.
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles - Waterbury Branch
2210 Thomaston Ave
Waterbury, CT 06704
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: (7:45 AM - PM)
Thursday: (9:15 AM -5:30 PM)
Monday, Saturday, and Sunday: (Closed)
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles - Norwalk Branch
540 Main Ave
Norwalk, CT 06851
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: (7:45 AM -4 PM)
Thursday: (9:15 AM -5:30 PM)
Saturday: (8 AM - 12:30 PM)
Sunday and Monday (Closed)
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles - Cheshire Branch
1625 Highland Ave
Cheshire, CT 06410
Wednesday and Thursday: (10 AM -7 PM)
Friday: (8 AM -4 PM)
Saturday: (8 AM - 2 PM)
Sunday and Monday: (Closed)
Process for transferring an out-of-state registration to CT
Once you've established residency in Connecticut, you have 90 days to transfer your vehicle registration.
Connecticut Titling Services Online
Transfer ownership and get tags for your vehicle right from your mobile phone. With eTags' online title transfer and registration, you can get a new Connecticut license plate or transfer a plate you already own.
- Application for registration.
- Certificate of title.
- In the case of a used vehicle, the current certificate of title and registration certificate.
- Bill of sale.
- Identification form.
- Proof of insurance.
- Registration fee payment.
Do drivers moving to Connecticut have to retake the written test again? Yes, when you move to Connecticut you'll need to pass the written test when you transfer your out-of-state license. While much of the information on the written test is very similar from state to state, there are some nuances you'll need to know.How much does it cost to switch your license to CT? ›
|New Issue drive-only license||$36||Issued for three years.|
|Duplicate license fee||$30||Expiration date does not change.|
|Making any change to your driver's license This fee applies to license upgrades/downgrades. Does not include renewals.||$30|
|License exam fee||$40|
A Connecticut resident must present one of the following valid forms of ID when registering a vehicle: Connecticut driver's license. Connecticut drive-only license. Connecticut drive-only learner's permit.
The vehicle registration fees associated with the state of Connecticut vary according to the type of vehicle each resident is registering. Standard Connecticut registration fees are as follows: Passenger vehicles: $120 for 3 years. Commercial vehicles: starting at $47 for 1 year.Can I register a car in a different state than my license Connecticut? ›
It is illegal to register your car in a different state to avoid higher registration fees or find lower insurance rates. Most people will use the same address on their vehicle registration, driver's license, and auto insurance policy — this address is typically the same as your primary residence.How do I change my car registration in CT? ›
You are required to complete the Connecticut Registration and Title Application form (Form H-13B) and pay the title transfer fee of $25. The new vehicle title will be sent to the address that's on file with the CT DMV.Do I need an appointment to go to the DMV in Connecticut? ›
The CT DMV is open by appointment only.
A $15 fee, which amounts to $5 per year, will be included in all three-year non-commercial vehicles with new registrations, renewals and plate transfers. These are passenger cars and vehicles with combination plates as well as motorcycles, campers/motor homes and vehicles with antique car plates.Do you need proof of insurance to register a car in CT? ›
To register a car in Connecticut, you need the following documentation: Registration fees. Proof of identity. Proof of insurance.How old does a car have to be to not need emissions in CT? ›
Model year 1997 and older vehicles; Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more; Composite Vehicles (vehicle must be titled as a composite vehicle); Full electric-powered (non-hybrid);Can you register a car without insurance in CT? ›
Under state law, anyone who wants to receive or retain a driver's license or motor vehicle registration must obtain and continuously maintain at least a minimum amount of financial security (e.g., auto insurance), including liability coverage and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (CGS §§ 38a-334 to 38a-343 ...Can you have a driver's license in two states? ›
Q: Is it legal to have a valid driver's license in more than one state? We spend part of the year in another state and it would be very convenient to have a driver's license in each state for identification and insurance purposes. A: Answer to your first question is no. You can only have one driver's license.How much does it cost for a driver's license in Connecticut? ›
Pay the license fee of $72.00 by card, check or cash. If you are at least 65 years of age, you may request a two-year driver license, for which the license fee is $24.00.Does Connecticut test parallel parking? ›
Yes. In the state of Connecticut you are required to parallel park for the purposes of your driver's test.How much are car taxes in CT? ›
Any 1991 model year and newer passenger vehicles and light duty trucks purchased from private owners (not a dealership) are subject to sales tax of 6.35% (or 7.75% for vehicles over $50,000). Connecticut Sales and Use Tax is based on the NADA average trade-in value or bill of sale value (whichever is higher).How do I establish residency in Connecticut? ›
An individual is a resident of Connecticut if: Connecticut was the individual's domicile (permanent legal residence) for the entire year, or. The individual maintained a permanent place of abode in Connecticut during the entire tax year and spent a total of more than 183 days in Connecticut during the tax year.What do I need to get a new license in CT? ›
- Apply for a learner's permit. ...
- You will need to hold your permit for a specific amount of time and fulfill certain training requirements before you take your road test (or “driving test”). ...
- Pass your road test (or “driving test”) and receive your new license in the mail.
If you are caught driving an unregistered vehicle, you will be fined between $150 – $300, with the possibility of having your car impounded, until you show a valid registration.Where do I go to register my car in CT? ›
Residents who have registered their car in Connecticut previously can renew their registration online at the Department of Motor Vehicles website. Residents who recently moved to Connecticut have 60 days to register their car with the DMV.Can I register my car online? ›
The vehicle registration service allows business users, registered as an authorised trader for Vehicle Registration Tax (VRT), to register new vehicles and pre-inspected vehicles online.How much is tax title and registration in Connecticut? ›
A Title Fee ($25). A Registration Fee ($75). A Plate Transfer Fee ($20).How much is CT emissions testing? ›
What does the test cost? The emissions test fee is $20, payable to the test center. All test centers accept cash as a form of payment; some may accept checks or credit cards but are not required do so.Do you need a bill of sale to register a car in CT? ›
Related resources. A Bill of Sale document is always required along with proof of ownership to process a new vehicle registration.Can a vehicle registered in one state can be used in another state? ›
When a Motor vehicle registered in one State has been kept in other State for a period exceeding twelve months the owner is required to obtain a new registration mark to be assigned by the registering authority within whose jurisdiction the vehicle then is in terms of section 47 of the Motor Vehicle Act 1988.How do I get a temporary registration in CT? ›
Temporary registration fees:
- $21 for every 10 days.
- $27 for 10 days for commercial vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 6000 pounds or less.
- $49 for 10 day for commercial vehicles with a GVWR more than 6,000 pounds.
In fact, not a single city in Connecticut is listed on Lawstarter's Best Cities for Living Without a Car list for 2022. We didn't even crack the top 150! To make things even less appealing to folks who don't own a car, over 90% of Connecticut residents are car owners and commute an average of 25 miles per day.Do I get a new license when I change my address CT? ›
Options for changing your address
All Connecticut residents with a vehicle registration, CT driver's license, or CT non-driver ID card must update the DMV within 48 hours of any change of address.
To report a change of address for a DCP license, permit or registration, send an email to email@example.com and include the following: Name. DCP license, permit or registration type. DCP license, permit or registration number.How do I talk to a person at CT DMV? ›
For Title Questions please call us at 860-263-5710 or complete our DMV contact form to communicate via email.What documents do I need for a real ID in CT? ›
In most cases, you need: A U.S. passport or U.S. birth certificate. A Social security card. Two pieces of mail from two different sources dated within 90 days to prove that you live in Connecticut.How do I make an appointment at motor vehicle in Connecticut? ›
- Select the category that best describes your visit.
- Consider the cause of your visit.
- Select your local office.
- Choose a date and time for your meeting.
Bring your ID, 2 x photographs and your valid learner's licence to make your appointment. You'll need to complete the DL1 form provided by the traffic department.How do I transfer my out of state license to Connecticut? ›
- Your current out-of-state license, which is not expired for more than two years.
- Acceptable forms of identification.
- Completed application for a non-commercial driver's license (Form R-229)
- Payment for your fees. Please see acceptable forms of payment.
You can renew online at that time, or up to 30 days after the expiration of your registration. However, there will be a $10 late fee applied to your registration if you renew five or more days after expiration.Did registration fees go up in CT? ›
Driver's licenses and vehicle registrations
Costs for those will increase along with the renewal periods: the fee for an eight-year license will increase to $96, up from the $72 for a six-year license. Two-year registration fees for passenger motor vehicles are $80, while three-year registration fees will cost $1u20.
Residents who have registered their car in Connecticut previously can renew their registration online at the Department of Motor Vehicles website. Residents who recently moved to Connecticut have 60 days to register their car with the DMV.Can you pass CT emissions with check engine light on? ›
You Might Pass The Test If The Problem Is Fixed
If you have a Check Engine Light on, and your car has been serviced recently, it's likely that the problem is fixed and you can pass the emissions test. However, if the light remains on or there are other problems with your vehicle, take it to a mechanic for a check.
- Vehicles younger than four model-years old;
- Model year 1996 and older vehicles;
- Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more;
- Composite Vehicles (vehicle must be titled as a composite vehicle);
Bi-annual emissions testing is required for every Connecticut-registered vehicle built between the 1996 and 2018 model years unless said vehicle meets one or more of the exemption requirements.How much does it cost to register a vehicle in Connecticut? ›
The vehicle registration fees associated with the state of Connecticut vary according to the type of vehicle each resident is registering. Standard Connecticut registration fees are as follows: Passenger vehicles: $120 for 3 years. Commercial vehicles: starting at $47 for 1 year.How long do you have to register a car in CT? ›
You must renew your vehicle's registration every 2 years, as required by the CT Department. The DMV sends registration renewal notices approximately 45 days before the expiration date.What states does CT have reciprocity with? ›
Connecticut has reciprocity agreements with the following states: Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Rhode Island. Agents should learn as much as they can about reciprocity to streamline the application process.How do I transfer my NJ license to CT? ›
To transfer your out-of-state license (17 and over)
Schedule an appointment at a motor vehicle license center with a current, valid driver's license in good standing and the proper legal documents to pass the 6 Points of ID requirements.
After 10 days you must have either a Nonresident Minor's Certificate or a California license. Will accept any valid learner's permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state. Connecticut will recognize out-of-state permits provided the restrictions of Connecticut and the issuing state is met.Is CT a two plate state? ›
Does Connecticut require a front license plate? Yes and no—Connecticut law requires only a rear license plate, but it also says any driver who receives two license plates must display both of them. The Connecticut DMV seems to prefer to issue two plates to all drivers.Is Connecticut a free carry state? ›
Connecticut is a Licensed Open Carry state. A Connecticut Permit to Carry Pistols or Revolvers allows the carrying of handguns openly or concealed in any place in the state that is not considered "off-limits" under state law.Is CT a concealed carry only state? ›
Open carry and concealed carry are legal in Connecticut with a CTPP. The minimum age is 21. Connecticut residents as well as non-residents with a valid CCW license from their home state can apply for a CTPP. Some areas are off-limits, including schools and state parks.
Provide the Necessary Documentation
There are certain documents you are required to submit at your local New Jersey MVC office to complete the driver's license transfer application. You must submit these documents: A valid out-of-state license (for proof of identity) Proof of New Jersey address.
- Proof of identity: 6-Point ID requirements.
- Out-of-state driver's license.
- Proof of U.S. citizenship OR legal presence in U.S.
- Payment for required fees: $24 for Class D driver's license fee, $10 for license transfer fee.
Appointments are required for: Registration/title transfer for private sale of a new vehicle, boat or trailer. New registration/title.How do I register my car in CT? ›
Registering your new vehicle or vessel (i.e., boat) is easy, but it can only be done by appointment at a DMV hub or branch office, or a participating dealership. Remember to bring all required documents and identification to your appointment, along with an acceptable form of payment.How long do you have to wait to get your license in CT? ›
Once you complete the driver training and hold your permit for at least 120 days (if completed commercial or secondary training) or 180 days (if completed training at home with a Qualified Trainer), you're ready to take a road test—or “driving test.”How long is a driver's permit good for in CT? ›
After you get your adult learner's permit:
Once you have your learner's permit for 90 days, follow these steps to get your driver's license: The learner's permit must be held for at least 90 days before you can take the on-the-road skills test—unless you fall under the exemptions listed under “Training requirements.”
A Connecticut Resident is an individual that is domiciled in Connecticut for the entire tax year. If you maintained a permanent place of abode in Connecticut and spent more than 183 days in the state, you are also considered to be a resident.